INTERPRETATION PACKET — SLIDE #28 (Situation 10)

“The receiving team shouts “jump” or “balls up” at the moment of
service. The R-1 allows this.”
Answer — Correct
Question: What if teammates on the bench or in the warm-up area shout
“lump” or “balls up” at the moment of service?
Answer: This practice should be allowed if the teammates on the bench or
in the warm-up are trying to communicate with their teammates on the
court. This practice should be prohibited (sanctioned) if the teammates are
trying to distract the server at the moment of service contact.
BY: NYSCVOA Executive Committee

INTERPRETATION PACKET — SLIDE #38 (Rule 14.6.4.2.2)

“It is illegal to block a ball in the opponent’s space unless the team
has taken three hits.”

The major points of emphasis in this year's NYSCVOA interpretation
dealt with play involving a back-row player (setter) and a front-row player.
Also reviewed was reaching over (blocking the set).

Please review Rule 14.6.4.2 — There are other instances where
blocking over the opponent’s space may be legal, however, the back-row
setter becoming an illegal (back-row) blocker and blocking the set are the
most confused rules in New York State: Often officials are getting this
particular call incorrect. The other situations will be points of emphasis next
year.

BY: NYSCVOA Executive Committee

INTERPRETATION PACKET — SLIDE #41 (Rule 14.5.2)

A question was raised if it is ever legal to attack a serve.

“14.5.2 Attacking the serve — It is illegal for a player to complete an
attack hit on the opponent’s service while the ball is in the front zone and
entirely above the top of the net.”

If the ball is in the back court or below the top of the net, it would be a

legal contact.
BY: NCAA RULEBOOK - PAGE 56 — RULE 14.5.2



